Here's what you need to know about coronavirus today

Updates from around the world

The French government will lift travel restrictions on coranoia on its internal European borders on June 15, Interior Minister Christophe Castaner and Foreign Minister Jean-Yves Le Drian said in a joint statement on Friday.

From Monday, people from European Union member states – as well as from Andorra, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Norway, St. Marino, Switzerland and the Vatican – will be able to enter French territory without restrictions.

“People from European countries are also excluded from quarantine upon arrival in France,” the statement said. “However, reciprocal restrictions will continue to apply at the borders with Spain and the United Kingdom.”

France will maintain reciprocal restrictions with Spain until June 21, including a 14-day quarantine for all passengers arriving by air. Travelers arriving in France from the United Kingdom will no longer be subject to entry restrictions from June 15, but will have to attend a 14-day quarantine upon arrival.

France will also move towards the gradual opening of the Schengen area’s external borders on July 1, according to the statement.

“This opening will take place in a progressive and differentiated manner, depending on the state of health of the various third countries, and in accordance with the procedures adopted at European level by then,” the statement said.

France will also give priority to visa applications and residence permits for international students.

“Given the challenges of university attractiveness, international students will be able, regardless of their country of origin, to come to France and facilitate their arrival,” the statement added.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *