Inset00 R16 Ncs Grid

2020 NASCAR Cup Sequence Playoffs discipline established

Chris Graythen | Getty Images

The 2020 NASCAR Cup Sequence Playoffs industry was set Saturday at Daytona Global Speedway in the frequent-season finale.

Thirteen of 16 places experienced been clinched in advance of the Coke Zero Sugar 400, meaning a few places ended up accessible. William Byron (win), Clint Bowyer (details) and Matt DiBenedetto (factors) earned them.

Associated: Race results

Hendrick Motorsports teammates Byron and Jimmie Johnson entered the working day separated by 4 details, with all other drivers under the cutline in essence needing to earn to get in. Johnson was caught up in a wreck late, although Byron went on to get his very first occupation NASCAR Cup Sequence race — two really distinct results for the eldest and youngest Hendrick drivers.

Down below is the unofficial seeding and details coming into the Round of 16. This story will be updated when seeding is built official.


1. Kevin Harvick, Stewart-Haas Racing: 2,057 details
2. Denny Hamlin, Joe Gibbs Racing: 2,047 points
3. Brad Keselowski, Team Penske: 2,029 points
4. Joey Logano, Team Penske: 2,022 points
5. Chase Elliott,
Hendrick Motorsports: 2,020 points
6. Martin Truex Jr.,
Joe Gibbs Racing: 2,014 factors
7. Ryan Blaney, Team Penske: 2,013 factors
8. Alex Bowman, Hendrick Motorsports: 2,009 details
9. William Byron, Hendrick Motorsports: 2,007 details
10. Austin Dillon, Richard Childress Racing: 2,005 details
11. Cole Custer,
Stewart-Haas Racing: 2,005 factors
12. Aric Almirola,
Stewart-Haas Racing: 2,005 factors
13. Clint Bowyer, Stewart-Haas Racing, 2,004 points
14. Kyle Busch,
Joe Gibbs Racing: 2,003 factors
15. Kurt Busch, Chip Ganassi Racing: 2,001 factors 
16. Matt DiBenedetto, Wood Brothers Racing: 2,000 details

CHAMP OUT: 7-time NASCAR Cup Collection winner Johnson will not have a opportunity at a person closing title. The No. 48 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet was involved in a multicar wreck with two laps to go. At the time, Johnson was on the suitable side of the cutline. His 17th-spot complete, however, pushed him out of the playoff photograph. Johnson is established to retire at the stop of the 2020 year.

CHAMP IS Listed here: Kevin Harvick received the frequent-season championship for the initially time in his occupation by virtue of obtaining the most points for the duration of the 26-race regular year. He clinched the title very last 7 days at Dover Global Speedway. His reward? In addition to the status and a pretty sweet trophy, that’s really worth 15 playoff details that have around into the postseason. Harvick was dominant in the course of the regular year, and no person came specially shut to complicated his guide atop the standings, finishing with a cushion of 10 details. He’ll enter as the gentleman to conquer.

Major SEED: Harvick was dominant all over the frequent year, and nobody came particularly near to complicated his guide atop the standings, finishing with a cushion of 115 points over Denny Hamlin. He’ll enter as the man to conquer.

Next UP: The NASCAR Cup Series Playoffs get started upcoming Sunday, Sept. 6, at Darlington Raceway with the Cook dinner Out Southern 500 (6 p.m. ET, NBCSN/NBC Sporting activities Application, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *